10-Step Process

The 10-Step Process helps defenders to walk through an operation from planning to operating and finally to analysis.

In 2013, Hy Rothstein and Barton Whaley co-edited a book titled The Art and Science of Military Deception. This book includes a chapter Whaley wrote entitled “The Process of Deception,” where he outlines a 10-step process for creating military deceptions. We have refined Whaley’s approach to create a 10-step process for denial, deception, and adversary engagement activities. This document explores each step in this process as it applies to adversary engagement operations.

Version: 1.0
Last updated: 2/28/2022

Fill out this form to provide feedback on this resource! 

Copyright © 2022 The MITRE Corporation. All Rights Reserved.